The euroCRIS Board

The euroCRIS governing board is responsible for the strategy, policy and management of the organisation.  It has an international composition and consists of a President, a Secretary, a Treasurer and ten other members. The term of office of the Board is two years: both acting Board members and regular members of euroCRIS can put their candidacy for (re)election in the biennial election process, which takes place by means of online voting.  The composition of the current euroCRIS Board (2019-2020) is as follows:

Ed Simons (Netherlands)

Ed has been a board member since 2009 and President of the organization from 2013 on. He holds a Ph.D. in Social Sciences. Ed has worked in the area of research information for more than 30 years and has led the development process of METIS at Radboud University, The Netherlands, a Dutch CRIS previously used by all Dutch universities. He has been involved in international projects with academic institutions for most of his career, focusing on the development and implementation of academic information systems.

As President, Ed’s field of attention regards the strategic partnerships and international relations of euroCRIS.

Peter Leijten (Netherlands)

Peter has been a board member since 2017.  As treasurer Peter is responsible for the annual accounts, annual budgets and all other financial issues, including tax and project control.

Peter is a chartered accountant and has a master in business administration. He has been working as an external and internal auditor. From 2003 on he is working in the Radboud University and is amongst others responsible for the control department

Greta Christina Lingjærde (Norway)

Greta has been a board member since 2012. She has a M.Sc. in Computing from the Department of Computer Science at the University of Oslo (1993). Since then she has worked with research systems, student systems, systems for admission, documentation, and data warehousing solutions.

Her current position is Senior director in Unit (Directorate for  ICT and joint Services in higher education and research)

Valerie Brasse (France)

Valerie has been a board member since 2013. She has been involved with EC funded projects in ICT since 1996, leading the software implementation of the online MERIL Research Infrastructure directory, while being Corporate IS/IT Manager at the European Science Foundation. Since 2012, she is the founder of IS4RI (Information Systems for Research and Innovation), a software engineering company dealing with consulting and training on digital transformation and project management.

Valerie contributes to the use and deployment of CERIF and CRIS in the context of mainly European projects, training and public presentations.

Sadia Vancauwenbergh (Belgium)

Sadia has been a board member since 2018. She is head of the Information management and strategic data-analysis team at Hasselt University and project leader at ECOOM. Sadia is member of the EOSC workgroups Landscape and Skills and Training, the RDA DMP Common Standards WG and is vice-chair of ISKO-LC (International Society for Knowledge Oganisation – Low Countries Chapter). Her work concerns the design and implementation of the architecture of the Flemish CRIS system FRIS (Flemish Research Information Space).

Sadia’s main activities within the board are focused on standards for metadata on research information, including classification.

Jan Dvorak (Czech Republic)
Task Group Leader CERIF and CRIS Architectures

Jan has been a board member since 2013. Jan was the leader of the team that created and maintained the first generation of the national CRIS in Czechia (IS VaVaI) on which he participated in 1996–2016. Since 2016 he works as research information system analyst at the Czech Technical University in Prague. Since 2011 he teaches at the Institute of Information Studies and Librarianship of the Charles University in Prague. Jan’s background is in applied mathematics.

Jan leads the euroCRIS CERIF and CRIS Architecture Task Group where he is active since 2009.

Pablo de Castro (United Kingdom)

Pablo has been a board member since 2013. Since 2018 he serves as Technical Secretary. His institutional affiliation is the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, where he works as Open Access Advocacy Librarian. Pablo holds a M.Sc. in Physics. 

Within the board Pablos main activities are focused on the question of CRIS/repository interoperability and therefore also on the maintenance of the euroCRIS institutional repository. Pablo also manages the organisations website and the Directory of Research Information Systems (DRIS).

Jonas Gurell (Sweden)

Jonas has been a board member since 2019 and works as an analyst at the office of the president at Stockholm University. He has a background as a research leader within the field of physics and material science before moving on to focus on research policy and analysis. During a previous position at the Swedish Research Council he was the project leader for the development of the Swedish national CRIS, SweCRIS (

Miguel-Angel Sicilia (Spain)

Miguel-Angel has been a board member since 2010. He is professor in Computer Science at the University of Alcalá (Madrid, Spain). He is currently editor in chief of Emerald’s Data Technologies and Applications journal, and his current research interest are in applied machine learning.  

Miguel-Angels main activities in the board are the lead for the Linked Open Data TG from its inception. Now he is the leader of the Technical Committee on Interoperability and Standards (TCIS). He has also chaired the technical committee of the last CRIS conferences. 

Mark Cox (United Kingdom)

Mark has been a member of the board since 2015.  He holds a PhD in biochemistry, but has been involved in IT and information systems for more than 20 years.  He is currently the Head of Research Information Systems at King's College London in the UK.  He has been involved with the development and implementation of several CRIS systems, including custom-built and commercial systems. He holds an interest in how CRIS systems support research evaluation and also how CRIS systems integrate with other business systems.

Jürgen Güdler (Germany)

Juergen is board member since 2017 and euroCRIS member since 2003. He has obtained a degree in sociology and in history of art. His current position is head of group of Information Management at the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation). His interests focus on RIS-Systems for funders (like, on Research Information Standards and on statistical products based on Research (Funding) Informations (like

Within the board Juergen’s main activities are focused on communications.

Jessica Lindholm (Sweden)

Jessica has been board a member since 2019. She holds a master in Library and Information Science. Jessica has been working locally, nationally and internationally with aspects around scientific communication and open access/open science since 1999. Since 2017 she is the product owner of the CRIS at Chalmers University of Technology (  Her main interest is agile, UX-oriented development in relation to usage and interoperability of open solutions from academic libraries for output from research and education.